Posted by: madamm | November 26, 2007

The Nicest Drama Queen

Yesterday an article in the Sunday Times’ Lifestyle section confirmed that I am indeed a Drama Queen.

“The Drama Queen is one who turns everything into a major crisis no matter how small the problem and thinks she’s going to get fired when the boss doesn’t smile at her.”

That’s me through and through. I stress about EVERYTHING and make it my life mission to pick up when people don’t smile or greet and then spend days beating myself up about it asking what I’ve done wrong. I don’t know why I’m like this, I just am.

Some of my friends have accepted this as part of my often fickle but very lovable* personality and others I am sure skinner behind my back and say mean things about how touchy I am and how I need to get over myself.

Moving swiftly on…I am boarding a (hopefully safe) plane tomorrow afternoon for the all important, much anticipated visa interview for my k3 spousal visa in Johannesburg on Wednesday morning. I don’t know whether to be excited or petrified, quiet or loud, ingratiating or distant…I don’t know what to wear. I have no idea what to expect or even how long it will take.

This information is not freely available like that. I mean there is this one site that claims to give you all-you-need-to-know-about-visa information and according to them I may be asked what our favorite sex position is (for verification purposes of course, I am not kidding) but I think that’s in really extreme cases.

Also, I don’t know how forthcoming I should be about my skills, qualifications and abilities. What is more favourable? To emphasise how much of an asset you may be or to not say much since the most important consideration is of course the fact that you want to be able to live with your husband.

Yes, these are things to consider and I’ve been stressing about it over and over and over, but I guess all I really want is for it to go well. The whole year has been about this interview. It’s taken a very very long time to get to this point. I am sure everything will go well. Please hold thumbs for me, it just seems as if there is so much going wrong at the moment.

For instance I am extremely upset with a few people at the moment. And maybe I’m making a drama queen moment out of it, but I feel like I should trust my intuition on this. My life should not be spent worrying about mere acquaintences.

I wish I could write about what’s going right now. I wish I could express how much I actually detest that people plak themselves onto you and then just assume that you’re up for the party and their conversation. I wish I had a way to get rid of taai people.

You know the type. You’re never rude to them because they never did anything to upset you. But secretly you actually cannot stand them. I’m not a bad person, honest. I’m actually just too fucking nice. And that’s my biggest problem.

*I assume some people may think I have a loveable personality, though some would argue I’m about as interesting as a clipped toenail.

Responses

  1. Better a clipped toenail than a chewed one.

  2. EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEW!

    I suppose there are worse things in life then, kyk.

  3. Be completely honest, you want to be wherever your hubby is.

    They want to just weed out those people that are lying, you’ll do fine!!

  4. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Categories

