Posted by: madamm | November 14, 2007

How to send me an e-mail and other general information

I believe in God.

That He works in powerful ways and that He will not forsake us. I don’t fear your judgement. I know what I know because too many things have happened in my life. Both wonderful and awful things that could and can not shake my conviction that there is a GOD.

I guess the use of conjunctives like “but” or “however” after that last paragraph may lead you to believe I have my reservations about the existence of God after all, but there is something I want to say and I feel it needs to be said.

I am not of the opinion that I will go to hell if I don’t send an e-mail with pretty pictures and stories about God to ten friends. I just don’t believe it. And it’s not because I don’t have the time. Oh no, I had time to write this post, didn’t I? It’s purely out of principle.

Firstly, there are still too many people out there who abuse the privilege of e-mailing. Friends of friends who send me “secrets of the garden” and “be careful when you go the bathroom in the mall” or “your cellphone will shock you when charged” type e-mails which, I confess, are deleted with one swift click of a button. E-mailing has become the most convenient way to be annoying without ever realising just how aggravating you can be because nobody will ever tell you to stop it (well, I mean I can think of at least one person who will, but she’s in the minority).

If you want to talk to  me, then talk to me. I cannot explain how much a “forward to all” message (unless its really hilarious or something) gets on my nerves. Furthermore, I believe God loves me regardless of whether I send ten people an e-mail. If you want to remind somebody of God’s love, why don’t you set up a time and go have coffee with your friend and talk about it? Why don’t you tell them in person? Why don’t you do something nice for them? Or just remind them how great they are sometimes?

Sometimes I talk to my friends via e-mail. And we have marathon conversations. Those are really fun and a way to catch up and I never mind them unless my deadline is an hour away, in which case I’ll let them know.

E-mailing is a very useful tool. You realise people mailed one another letters and generally called each other via telephone before then, right? Then, at least, you knew when someone really cared about you and was genuinely interested in your wellbeing.

And I often find small messages from God in every day life. That He exists. That He answers prayers. I don’t find these messages in e-mails because of the blatant generality and ease of it all.

Responses

  1. […] 14th, 2007 at 10:57 am (annoying, religion) Mrs M wrote about those annoying forwarded emails we receive almost daily. Although I also find it annoying to […]

  2. I think I’m going to send a reply to all these emails from now on. Something along the lines of:

    “Thanks for this.
    You’ve just cursed me forever. I hope you sleep well at night knowing you’ve abused company email, disturbed my peace of mind and potentially ruined my life because I am obligated to not pass this crap on.
    Have a good day, Toby.”

  3. I’m not going to send a reply.
    I’m going to conference call people who do it, and report LIVE from North Carolina a la Oprah! HA!

  4. Hee, hee. I think that’s a brilliant idea!

  5. Mmh.. I hope it wasn’t me that sent you that email Mrs M. Haha. Although I don’t think so. I only forward things that are really worthwhile. I hardly ever forward God emails. I think God himself would find them annoying.

  6. A bit elaborate…but brilliant, nonetheless.

  7. no, it wasn’t you Gnome 🙂

  8. Man how horrid is that email! If you have a relationship with God it is a personal thing and wouldn’t have anything to do with stupid forward emails. That actually freaks me out to be honest with you, plays on the whole guilt thing and the whole Christian fear of going to hell.

    Ignore the stupid email.

    Least it isn’t one of those “you will have bad sex for 7 years if you don’t forward this on” that is more scary!

    xx

  9. what is “bad sex”anyway? I mean…has anyone ever attempted to define that?

  10. I suppose it would be for girls when a guy isn’t bothered about foreplay and just launches into immediate penetration?

    And then comes and ends it?

    That would be my definition of bad sex.

  11. That’s bad yo.

    Definitely.

  12. Bad sex is baaaaad


Leave a Reply

Categories

