Posted by: madamm | November 9, 2007

I couldn’t be bothered…

WHERE THE HELL HAVE I BEEN FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS?

I just received an entry form for a journalistic competition. But I don’t fall into the publication category anymore, so I’m not even going to bother with it. I never bother anyway.

Then it struck me. That’s exactly what I’ve been saying about ALL Journo competitions for like, ever. I mean, aside from the fact that I always had the important excuse of working on a masters degree and not having time to showcase my talents work in other ways, I have never been interested in entering competitions in my chosen field of work.

Does that mean Im not proud of what I do? Does it mean I don’t work hard enough to be considered? HELL NO. I can think of quite a few examples of articles I did which impressed the editorial here, but I simply was never bothered to do anything about it.

Then again, I never enter competitions in general. I mean, I entered that Kfm competition, but what’s the chances they’re gonna pick me out of a gazillion people?

And it’s actually too late now. Maybe if I get my masters degree that can be my own little special¬†prize. Goodness knows I’ve entered twice already.

Responses

  1. You’re mos not supposed to enter your stuff – your bosses are. And buuuhleeeeve me – winning an award is overrated.

    People (who genuinely like you) congratulate you and forget about it a day later. People (who don’t like you) congratulate you while sharpening the knives behind your back. Then they bring it up every time until everyone is sick of you having won and award and you just want to give it to the person to shut them the hell up.

    You don’t need an award anyway – jy’s mos daai girl. Oh, and as David Bullard says, awards stuff is basically just literary wanking.

  2. Literary Wanking. I feel better:)
    Thanks Tobes.

  3. Any time my friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

