Posted by: madamm | October 31, 2007

So this is it…

As my luck would have it, my internet server has been down for most of the day. Not that that matters. I wasn’t here for the first half anyway…still better late than never.

So while I was filling in my form at the postgraduate examinations office, my cellphone rang. It was the American Consulate in Johannesburg. My appointment is on 28 November at 9am.

Turns out everything happened on one day. I handed in my thesis, which I feel very positive about, and I (finally) got the call for the interview.

It feels huge. It feels ginormous. I’m so happy that I managed to write a whole thesis again and complete it for examination (again). I actually can’t describe how proud I am of myself. It’s too much to talk about.

Furthermore, my time here in South Africa is drawing to a close very very soon. I mean it IS actually drawing to a close as I speak, but you know what I mean. If I get the visa, I won’t be here for much after that. I mean, literally a few days give or take.

But I’m not about to stop blogging because of that. Oh no. I plan to capture every single mundane piece of every day life on this blog, even if it is in another location. There I’ll have new adventures. Job-hunting, setting up house andperhaps  more talk about marriage/relationships because right now I only have a long-distance one to speak of and it doesn’t come highly recommended at all.

Yes folks, Mrs M has handed in. And got her call for her visa appointment in Johannesburg. Now that my Internet is working, I better get cracking on those airline websites, I’ve got one domestic return flight to check out.

And one international flight. One Way.

Responses

  1. *sob* I’m going to miss you meisie. But this is the most fantastic news I’ve heard in a while.

  2. Im going to miss you very very much too.
    I am very glad about this. Slightly overwhelmed but glad.
    Actually, I’m scared…

  3. Wow – hectic news! But fantastic news for you I guess 🙂

    I hope all goes well and congrats on handing in the thesis 🙂

  4. Am I going to be the only person left in SA??? *feeling decidely sorry for myself*

  5. NO! You are not going to be the only person left in SA! Besides, I kind of envy you in a way…here we’re already familiar with everything, we know our way from A to B, have already developed favorites (like food), we spell words like ORGANISE with an “s” and don’t talk about lots of people collectively as “y’all”.

    These are just tiny little differences I’ve picked up on my trips there, I’m sure there are LOTS more though…

    Thanks Miss M! I hope all goes well too.

  6. Ai Mrs M. Even though we don’t see each other often at all, I am suddenly feeling a distinct sense of loss… But wow my friend. Glad that everything is coming together at last. You’ll be with your husband for Christmas!

  7. Yeah, y’all know I don’t like those Americanismz…

  8. Ag Gnome…that’s how I feel too, but am glad about yesterday despite TODAY’s post.

    Toby, I know how you feel yes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

