Posted by: madamm | September 19, 2007

Disposables

Last night Meags and I were talking about disposable people.

Disposable people are like the little blonde girl in my honours year who had a skew pinkie and closely resembled one of Dahl’s oompa loompas. They’re just there and their existence holds no real meaning for you.

The only thing that matters in life is the reaction you have toward disposable people. I’ve realised (only in the past three years, actually) that being friends with disposable people is like, the most mind-numbing activity I can think of. The harshest way I’ve ever disposed of someone was one Christmas afternoon when this backstabbing bitch former friend person rang my doorbell with a smile and a gift.”

“Merry Christmas,” I said, “I’m sorry, but I think it’s better if you go now.”

My question is, are you supposed to feel bad when you dispose of people? Is there any remorse involved? Sure, I felt bad for a day or so, but I’ve wholly accepted the rationale that we choose our friends wisely and with great care. I wouldn’t trade the few I have for anything in the world.

Responses

  1. Oh I just loved this description…a blonde oompa loompa! Ha,ha, ha.

  2. isn’t is exquisite?

  3. You’re so brave Mrs M. “I think it’s better that you go now”. WOW. You go, Mrs M. I don’t think we should feel bad about disposing of people. I’d prefer it, of course, if they just drop by the wayside somehow. Quietly… Rather than me having to actively dispose of them if you know what I mean.

  4. I just always hope they just stop calling or messaging me etc and then we just separate quietly!!

    I know I’m usually the one everyone expects to be all forward and speak my mind regardless, but I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t want to get involved and just hope things fly over.

    So good for you Mrs M

  5. I’m fully for disposing of friends. I have reached a point in my life where if you aren’t making me happy or being a good friend then I can’t be bothered to keep you as one.

    I now have a few really good friends and loads of people on the outskirts who I see occaisonally but do not make any efforts with. I’m friendly and all but that is as far as it goes.

    I’m sick of the backstabbing, two faced wankers who are out there. I work with too many of them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

