Posted by: madamm | September 12, 2007

*&$! man…and other ponderings

When was the last time you thought about how old you were? Not how old you were, just your age in general.

I thought about it again this morning when I (finally) received my birth certificate from the department of Home Affairs. My struggle with them wasn’t that bad this time around, the by-now familiar lady at the counter even remarked: “I bet you see me more than you see your husband.” Indeed.

But this morning I thought about being 25. And that my next birthday (OMG, will anything ever top my 25th, Toby?!) will signal turning 26. Like, seriously. Did I ever think about being 25 at 22? Will I wish I was 25 at 30? What are the societal expectations for a 25 year old? Does one ever shed any part of your personality when you grow up? Can I still crack jokes? Can I still cry out loud? Am I supposed to be able to whip up a Turkey for Thanksgiving all of a sudden? Do you suddenly learn how to manage finances better when you turn 25?

Oh, the pointlessness of it all. Where will I be in twenty years? Will I have children? Does childbirth hurt really bad? Will I be earning a decent salary? Will I have seen Japan?

Fuck man, I’ve just realised I lost my earring. SO friggin pissed right now.

Responses

  1. Oe kalmeer meisie! I hope you find your earring…
    About the other stuff, as long as you have fun and love lots it doesn’t really matter.

  2. You are right Toby, I just want to KNOW more about the future all the time, but at some point in the future, Im going to realise its fruitless to care about it so much.
    No I didn’t find my earring. Bummer man.

  3. Child birth doesn’t hurt!!!

    It’s called DRUGS!!! Epidural ROX my sox LOL

  4. Mrs M heaves a sigh of relief.

  5. Unless you’re like the girl in my office who had one then had to have an emergency C-section. The drugs wore off just as they were cutting her…

  6. I dare you to read this again when you start staring your 30th in the eyes…
    You will always get older – unless you die – which would suck more.

    Don’t over think it. 😉
    (seriously it can be very depressing if you do)

  7. I feel like a total child still. So am not grown up and about to turn 25. It does freak me out slightly but when I was a kid I thought that being in your 20’s was so old but now that I’m there I still we’re so young!

    Or am I just mad?

  8. TOby!!! OMG OMG!!!! shit…
    Louisa: I might just read this again in like five years…it doesn’t depress me too much to think about, it’s just that I want to know what the expectations are right now?
    Miss M? Howdeedoody? Dude, your new show seems to be keeping you busy…
    no you’re not mad, just enjoy it…you’re never gonna be 24 again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

