Posted by: madamm | September 10, 2007

Teach them well and let them lead the way…

My friend the J-Meister once had a friend who referred, broadly speaking, to the University of Cape Town as a “cesspit of hatred and filth”.

What he exactly he meant, is beyond me, even today. I doubt it had anything to do with the *drama student’s stinky barefeet. Nonetheless, my point has nothing to do with UCT whatsoever, but rather the fear I have that I will someday have children who are confronted with issues that I saw no need to fall victim  to while I was in the earlier stages of growing up. Don’t get me wrong, I had my fair share of fun now (I’m not that much of a fuddy-duddy!) but I think perhaps I was more determined to go places rather than to get stuck with the same old friends who (still!)think it’s cool to get stupid drunk or stupid high. I think perhaps my parents were a little over-protective (okay, a little is really cutting them some slack) but not to the extent where I ever felt that I needed to spin out of control to prove a point.

It’s scary to think about a pregnant daughter or a son in rehab. How do we tell them to have fun (be naughty even) but just don’t fuck up? Where are the boundaries? I don’t know, because there is no manual for parenting (well there are, but seriously, it’s about as useful as a toothache. Not very). So all parents just wing it. Some suck at being parents and others are better. Some are just too cool. Then again, having never been a parent myself, who am I to judge. I think my parents fall along the moderate to very good continuum.

Still, *my children won’t grow up in the same environment as I did. Then again, it doesn’t matter where they grow up…things have changed enough globally in the past twenty-five years as it is.

* They always walked around barefoot. I was a drama student too and found this unacceptable.

*No, Im not pregnant. This is a future fear.

Responses

  1. If I ever have the misfortune to breed i will lock those babies up until they’re 40. It’s the only way, I’m sure.

  2. Me too!! We’ll teach them Russian.

  3. Like Manto?

  4. hahahahaha! Ja, like her sans the liver-disease inducing-Vodka


Leave a Reply

Categories

