Posted by: madamm | September 6, 2007

The truth will set you free

Honesty.

In my marriage, this virtue is basically the edifice of the entire relationship. The absolute paragon of transparency and  advocate for trust.

Today I wrote my husband an e-mail about cigarettes and how I just can’t seem to stop craving them. I told him how I didn’t want to quit smoking.It took a lot of courage for me to write him that e-mail especially because he despises the very idea of nicotine.

Cigarettes have caused a few rows in our relationship. And nobody wants to have an angry exchange about anything for that matter. But I love my husband a great deal and I want him to know how I feel. What’s the use in being married if you’re keeping your feelings inside the whole time?

My only hope is that he realises that I just wanted to be honest after all.

Responses

  1. I’m sure he will. If you’re not ready, you’re not ready. I think honesty is great Mrs M. You’re married after all.
    When you decide to quit, then you will. Mos.

  2. Ja. I really hope he sees the message for what it is, though. It was rather difficult a topic to broach.

  3. You absolutely did the right thing by being honest. There is just no other way in a marriage. The cig issue is a very touchy one, though, I think…

  4. It is Gnome, but I did what I thought was right. If I never talked about this, I would just have kept it to myself and been frustrated…who would I have been kidding then?

  5. Keeping it in would have been a million times worse. Plus I’m not sure you would have been able to not say anything. As hard as I try, I cannot keep stuff from my husband. That’s how it’s supposed to be. Regardless of fall-out – honesty is the MOST NB THING.

  6. Honesty is the best policy and you definitely have done the correct thing.

    He’ll love you no matter what 😉

  7. I feel better about it. Thank you for reminding me that I’ve done the right thing here.

  8. *Toby sings “You’ve done the right thing” hoping nobody will look at her in a funny way* 🙂

  9. Is that a song?
    *Not looking at Toby funny but trying to get annoying soong by Fergie called Big Girls don’t cry out of her head*

  10. *Toby made the previous one up but suggests: My boy lollipop, you make my heart go giddyup, you set my world on fiyaaar, you are my heart’s desiyaaar, My boy Lolipop…*

  11. *Splish splash I was taking a bath…on about a Saturday night….Rub dub just a splashin’ in the tub, thinking everything is all right…*

  12. That Fergie song has one of the most stupid lines in song history

    “I’m gonna miss you like a child misses their blanket”

    I MEAN SERIOUSLY?! Could she not think of anything better than that?

  13. I KNOOOOOOOOOOOWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot STOP THINKING ABOUT THAT! Im gonna miss you like a child misses their blanket…I always think of Linus from Peanuts, I didn’t have blanket issues!
    pooppooppeedoop (TOby!)

  14. OH MY GOD IT’S PLAYING ON THE RADIO NOW!!! NOOOOOOOOOOO

  15. i hope you know, I hope you know…

  16. Umbrella…ellla, ellla, ella…

  17. NOOOOOOO don’t do it!!!! NOOO!

    That song was the curse on England. No 1 for 10 weeks and we didn’t have a summer, it rained all the time.

    AARRRGG

  18. THAT IS HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ELA ELA ELA EH EH EH EH EH

    hahahahaha

  19. *thinks what a bastard you are*

    The sunshine has disappeared now and it is all your fault.

  20. Sorry man. You could always think of Kylie’s “I should be so lucky, lucky, lucky, lucky…”

  21. *snigger*


Leave a Reply

Categories

