Posted by: madamm | September 4, 2007

@HOME

Was it difficult to move away from your parents?

A vast majority of you reading this blog no longer eat supper with Mommy and Daddy in the evenings after work. You don’t relay your entire day to your Mom in person, neither do you make fun of people with horizontal lisps on Pasella with your Dad.

I doubt any of you help your younger sister draft a letter of application after an exhausting day at the office. Maybe you call your folks up to ask about financial advice. Mine are just a few footsteps away.

Perhaps you have to cook your own dinner at night (or get take-aways) while waiting for the washing machine to finish washing your clothes- something I do only occasionally.

Sunday afternoon drives to anywhere. Kisses goodbye in the morning. Someone who remembered to buy toothpaste and toilet-paper. The people who tell you you’ll find politics in any office you work at. Who promise that the markets will recover.

The people who care about your well-being. Who keep silent mostly out of respect for me and wanting to see me happy.
My family. I cannot begin to describe the difficult feelings I have about moving so far away from them. Perhaps, mostly because we’re incredibly close.

I’ve made my choice however and decided to continue my life on the other side of the world, but to me, they’re the people who will remain the closest.

Responses

  1. It doesn’t matter how far you are from them, Mrs M, they’re always close.
    It is INCREDIBLY tough the first few months (and that was just moving to Stellenbosch!) but you get used to it. And you learn to value your time and conversations so much more after that.
    You also learn what it is you love about them – and that makes you learn more about yourself too.
    It won’t be that bad and when they come visit (or you do) it will be absolutely great.

  2. My family are now my housemates. I now relay my entire day to them in all it’s glory, we cook dinner for each other, we squabble together and bitch and moan to each other that someone forgot to buy toilet paper. I can rely on those 2 completely and I know that they know it’s the same on my side.

    We cry together, we plot together and essentially nothing makes me more happy these days than coming home, collapsing on the couch and drinking a glass of wine with the two of them.

    That said I miss my parents so very much but I do enjoy living my own life away from the stern reproach of my Catholic Mother on just about everything I do. Granted she does still try to control my actions from the other side of the world but she doesn’t get very far!

    Mine came to visit me last year and stayed at our house, it was an amazing experience being able to put them up myself and prove to them that their little girl was capable of acting like an adult 😉

  3. You are so incredibly lucky Mrs M, to have such a close family that really communicate with each other. It will be bitter-sweet my friend, but you have made the right decision.

  4. Yes, that’s exactly what I would like. To show my parents that I am capable of taking care of myself. My mother is extremely overprotective. But I think it’s time to spread my wings…finally.

  5. My mother just likes controlling everything – Mrs M you’ll miss them a lot but there is definitely a wonderful feeling of freedom when you move away and you learn to appriciate everything that they do just that little bit more 🙂

  6. Yes Gnome, I believe I have…
    I think I knew what freedom felt like in 2004 and 2005…but have moved back home since.

  7. You’ll become even closer, just you wait.

    All you need is Skype and a trusty web cam… Plus it’s free!!!! Can’t beat that right?

    I talk to my mom and dad everyday and they see DW everyday, and he loves it. It really makes them feel like they are there with you.

    Also just make sure you make friends, so you don’t feel completely isolated!!!!

    You’ll be fine and everything will come right, just you wait and see!!

  8. I know. Webcam is the first thing I thought about!! So definitely getting that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

