Posted by: madamm | September 3, 2007

The Final Countdown

Monday. September. Here we are.

I spent all weekend, rewriting chapters of my thesis. And silently cursed the day I decided to sign up for this. It’s been almost three years. Who knew I would take so long to complete a degree? Then again, who knew life would happen.

I’m stressing out about being overweight/having charred lungs/being generally unhealthy for my medical exam. This happens before the visa interview. Which in itself, is a bit too much for me to think about right now. I’ll probably know a little bit more in two weeks time.

So as you can see my entire life (well a very big part of it) rests on the next two months going well for me.

I haven’t made any preparations other than mental and requests for strength. I hope I’m worth it. I really hope I’m worth the visa and the degree.

Funny thing is, I’m not really freaking out. I’m just letting it happen.

Responses

  1. We got yo back Mrs M. Mental, emotional and physical (ie chocolate) support. It’s all going to work out well, you’ll see.

  2. Thank you Toby. I really really hope so.

  3. They make it sound worse than it is, just walk in their like you are going to get milk and bring as many papers that you can, even bring pictures if you want.

    As she/ he starts talking, just answer and add in, would you like to see this?? or would you like to see that??? ETC….

    You will be fine!!!

  4. Thanks LT. IM just on the phone with Home Affairs now- about an unabridged birth certificate. I don;t know when this will end. But really, thanks for the tips!

  5. Probably the best way to be, just take it one day at a time. My friend recently handed in her thesis so I can imagine how stressed out you must be. Congrats though! 🙂

    Charred lungs, I can sympathise, I woke up after this weekend feeling suspiciously hoarse which means I was smoking like a chimney 😦

  6. hehehehehe. Just lay off the cigs for two days and drink lots of water. Cigs have a particular way of making you feel shitty. I know.

  7. Or it was the smog and pollution. Don’t blame the cigs *She says knowing it’s futile and it is probably the cigs*

  8. yeah, it is London after all, innit.
    are you from SA? Cos you talk about braais Miss M?

  9. Ah yes, was wondering when someone would pick that up 😉 I am from SA …

    No it was the cigs, I have this faint memory of thinking this guy would like me if I went outside and had a cig with him – but I doubt that was the only one …

  10. Ooooh, the getting the guy with cigs trick. A friend tried that with girls and it worked like a charm. That was the 90s though.

  11. I got him – but then realised I didn’t really want him that much 😉

    Hey Mrs M – how come I can’t subscribe to you blog or am I just blind?

  12. whaddayamean?
    Toby(techno-whizz!) help?

  13. RSS feed, you don’t have one? Or one of those atom subscribe to my posts – it allows me to know when ever you’ve put a post up so I don’t need to keep checking 😉

  14. oh Toby just explained how I should go about doing that. I’ll do it soon enough mah dear. I usually only post 1-2 times a day. MAX

  15. THERE!!! Ready ready!!

  16. Aw fank yew 😉

    I feel like I’ve made a new friend …

  17. Meeee toooooo!
    (Have the tendency to gush and get all emotional)

  18. Meeeeee toooooo!!!! 😉
    I cry at adverts … the one back home they always play round Christmas about the pets that get abandoned etc? I sob at that one …

  19. They haven’t played that one in a while. SO when did you move to London? And Why? And what do you love/hate about it?

  20. I moved out here about 2 and a half years ago to work in TV. See I don’t speak an African language and to be honest with you I don’t like the crap on SA tv that gets made. I want to return home but not 100% sure when I’m going to do it.

    I love it here because life is so different every single day, plus there is this fantastic public transport system and I can see new and amazing things every single day 😉
    I hate it here because it is filled with The English and can sometimes be far too busy, expensive and polluted.

    However with my new gorgeous view of The Thames I’m rather happy 😉

    Where in America are you moving too?

  21. To Sanford in North Carolina. On the east coast just under Virginia, which is below Washington DC.
    Met my husband in 2005 while on exchange in NC. Had to come back, because I have a bursary and to finish masters.
    Got married this year in March…
    And the wait’s been going on ever since…

  22. Good luck MrsM! I’m sure it will go well with both… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

