Posted by: madamm | August 30, 2007

Why I don’t do crack

I’ve just read Gnome’s piece on privacy and decided to give my two cents referring with a sideglance here at the cooler-than-Converse-hotter-than-Heidi-spot-of-the-second: Facebook.

But first I want to say something about two blogs in particular:

I agree with Gnome, Tertia’s So Close is almost overbearing with the amount of information we get to read about her on her blog. I’ve often become extremely annoyed when reading her posts. Perhaps because I think she’s gutsy to talk about the things she talks about or because I quietly judge her for various reasons. Whatever the case may be, I often go back to read it.

Another blog I (still) read from time to time is that of Peas on Toast. I used to think the writing on this blog is incredibly witty and well-put and in fact, it still is, but unfortunately the content of it has resulted in a loss of credibility for me. I’m afraid I just don’t believe everything she writes anymore. Still good for a laugh sometimes.

And finally, Facebook. For the record, I belonged to Facebook in 2005 while attending uni in North Carolina. My thesis on blogging evolved from the very idea of Facebook (because it wasn’t available in SA upon my return). As host of my own show on campus, I discussed Facebook ad nauseaum.

Facebook was crack. Facebook was evil. But mostly, Facebook was fun.I changed my status to single once while dating my husband back then. It was the most public break up ever. We’ve since made up (of course). However, it is my experience that sometimes other people just don’t know how to behave in a social network like this. Personally I have absolutely nothing against it, but I’ve seen enough to know that its usually other people who are the assholes.My experience is limited to the United States, but I have little doubt things would be different in South Africa (or the rest of the world, whichever way you look at it). I cherish my friends and my personal relationships with people very much. And I am very glad for networks like Facebook, it’s a fantastic social tool. But I have decided for once, not to do something just cos everyone else is.

Responses

  1. I also used to read Peas. Nowadays I pop over there every now and then to check it out but am definitely not a regular.

  2. First I heard about peas is now…

    mmm

  3. decide for yourself.
    I like myself so much more now than I did when I was a little younger. Not that Im over the hill exactly!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

