Posted by: madamm | August 5, 2007

Lashed out lavishness

It’s called Loreal Double Extend. And I don’t care if Penelope Cruz was faking it, but this mascara works.

Getting dressed for Sunday brunch at the Mount Nelson took some thinking. The Abster was celebrating her 30th birthday.Let’s see…crisp white shirt (forgot to iron the sleeves). Check. Dark blue denims. Check. Blackmail stockings. Check. Black heels. Check. Pearl earrings. Check. String of Pearls. Check. Hair (did). Check. Make-up. Check.

Somewhere in between all of this, I had not anticipated growing double length eyelashes. My whole life, I’d been teased about my lashless existence. But Loreal Double Extend made it a thing of the past. Not only was I able to strut my stuff with confidence (before the meal, when pulling in your stomach was possible) but it felt really good to flutter my eyes and see something happen. I’m so glad I discovered it.

Was a great afternoon (despite the fact that I now find myself at the office with double length lashes, looking pretty dressed up for someone picking their way through sentences for spelling mistakes). Toby was there. And the weather was awesome. The food was divine. We didn’t even feel bad with our plates full of pastries and chocolates from heaven.

It was heaven. With long lashes. Because I’m worth it.

Responses

  1. Sounds like fun MrsM. 😉
    I can’t wear mascara at all – it ends up looking like I have two huge spiders on my face!

  2. Hee hee, the lashes did indeed look extended, luscious and Penelope-like. They fluttered beautifully in the Cape Town sun.
    But I’m with Louisa on the spider eye thing though. It’s a pain in the ass!

  3. Ooh, they got all spidery-eyed when I came to work and rubbed my eyes.Hmph

  4. But they were still there, no? And that is tog the point: to notice them whether they’re spidery or not! 😉

  5. I agree!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

