Posted by: madamm | July 30, 2007

I was bothered

I must say…I was bothered.

Throughout my 600 page journey. Bothered. I don’t want to be guilty of the same thing I accuse others-like-me of, but I’m talking about the-book-that-must-not-be-mentioned. You know which one.

I say I was bothered, and by saying this, I am surely not giving anything away…but really I quite disliked the fact that everytime when something shocking/huge/terrible/wonderful happened, the words would jump out at me in CAPS with exclamation marks. Of course my inquisitive eyes would be drawn to it. And of course, I skipped sentences, no paragraphs to get to the crux of the matter.

J.K. Rowling is a phenomenal storyteller nonetheless and I really did enjoy this last story but it was not without its hiccups. For instance, seeing the front of the Lifestyle Section of the Sunday Times angered me, nearly three-quarters into the book at that stage, a great deal. I was so intent on finishing the book uninterrupted. 

I called my husband when I finished it.He listened solemnly, but I could tell he wanted to laugh.

Great weekend overall.

Responses

  1. Nothing like a bit of bother to get you through the weekend. I think you avoided the proliferation of stories about the book quite admirably.

  2. I think you’re right, but I really should have contemplated complete solitude.

  3. In this day and age that is an unattainable, impossible ideal!

  4. Ah ha, Harry…but if you look deep inside yourself…you know…it can be attained…because only a true…

  5. Yay you’re done!!

    Fabulous!!!!!

  6. yeah, I finished it.
    AMAZING!

  7. hey it took me a while, I had to listen to the Audio book!!!

  8. well done, on your scholarly achievement. tired of these people lazy enough to read a poster, yet they complain that harry potter is not worth reading.

  9. Who complained that Harry Potter is not worth reading, Fred?And which poster are you referring to? The one on the front cover of the Lifestyle Section? Man, that really got my cottons in a knot!
    I wrote previously about a lady who said that her church said it wasn’t a good idea. And that based on that, she wouldn’t be letting her kids read it. A WHOLE discussion about HP without having read a single book. I ask you.
    The AUDIO BOOK?! LT…man, I bet that was pretty cool, actually…come to think of it.I wonder what the blood curdling screams sounded like…

  10. it was pretty load, Jim Dale is so great, he really draws you in.

    DW actually loved it too!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

