Posted by: madamm | July 16, 2007

Of Death and Art

I watched Little Children this weekend.

It was a rather disturbing film. I don’t know if I like disturbing films. In fact, I’m not sure if I’m just a regular shallow ol’ romantic comedy typa gal. Perhaps.

Still, there is something about the brain behind the film that interests me. Is it always moral consciousness or the need to cultivate awareness that drives a project? Was Little Children a comment on the sick world we live in? Or boredom? Or lust? I can see what drove Gore’s An Inconvenient Truth, for example, however most films are made to entertain. And so we have the Cheaper By the Dozen (III) or The Harry Potters of the World.

But if a film ruffles feathers, then I think that was its main purpose.

So it was interesting to read how Leni Riefenstahl made films/documentaries about Nazi Germany without ever claiming to know a thing about the goings on at the time. And if she didn’t believe it, I wonder what her audience thought.I was forced to study Leni’s work at university. Tobes can concur.

Can it be possible, to be so consumed with one person that it serves as complete propoganda, without realising it yourself? If so, why should we trust Riefenstahl’s work at all? Or should we, because “art enshrines our highest ideals?”(Carey). Should we because it reflects the fulfillment of a need at a certain point in time? I don’t. Because as far as I’m concerned, the definition of art is relative and it is foolish to believe the truth as put forward on screen or in books for that matter. Not as absolute anyway. Such is the subjective nature of art and the human existence that we must realise nothing is for certain.

Not the way we experience boredom through the eyes of a film director, or love through the pen of an author.

Me?I just want to know what happens when your heart stops beating. Maybe then I’ll know everything.

Responses

  1. I can indeed Mrs M but she knew exactly what she was doing. NO way she couldn’t. I think knowing that can make you appreciate the film because you know through which lens it was being made. you can appreciate the lighting, angles, etc without falling for the message…because you know the message isn’t true/objective.
    If you watched Michael Moore’s stuff, for example, you know where he’s coming from so can base your opinion of the film on that.
    All of us, to some extent, are influenced by our opinions: our writing, our thoughts, everything.
    We filter all our experiences through our various lenses and in the end EVERYTHING is just a matter of deciding if it fits in with your philosophy or not.
    That’s part of the fun of being human and living in a postmodern world…

  2. I think we are influenced by opinions in a way that causes the amalgamations of several which then form your own. But you’re right, it is a matter of deciding whether it fits into your philosophy or not.
    However, I think people are sometimes not critical enough. Like the Harry Potter lady.

  3. That lady was just dumb…she didn’t even TRY to think about it!

  4. UH HUH…but she’s very touchy…
    Hey did Pete tell you, we found Wasbeer on gevrietboek?
    HIE HIE!!

  5. He did. I thought that was so funny!!! I can so see him gevrietboeking while thinking of the research potential of this sns…

  6. now that you put it that way I am LMIMP.
    ai jirre…some things dont’change.

  7. It’s good to LYIYP… oe jirrie, now I’m LMIMP for this ridiculousity…

  8. Interesting plot line … this is the one with Kate Winslet?

    DVD Rental? I would watch it for Kate

  9. it was an interesting plot line yes…but I don’t really watch movies for actors…


Leave a Reply

Categories

