Posted by: madamm | June 27, 2007

The Musicals

Julie Andrews…her soprano does more for me than Mariah Carey ever would…

Fifteen years on, I found myself watching Rogers and Hammerstein’s The Sound of Music on e (complete with Harpic and Cell C ad breaks) and it amazed me how much of the dialogue I actually remember. Not the words to the songs…the dialogue. The only other movie I can safely admit to being able to do that is The Lion King. So I wondered…is it strange to watch the same movie more than 50 times?

Because that’s what I did. I even had a record at the library as the patron who had sole possession of Mary Poppins, The Sound of Music and Oliver most of the time…that was before I discovered Enid Blyton and C.S Lewis though…

I really enjoyed watching those musicals very much. I think it contributed to my life in some (insignificant) but worthwhile way.

Responses

  1. Ooooh sound of music! Love that musical (but for the songs). I don;t think I know the dialogue to be honest.

    Before I had a radio in my car I used to sing to myself to stay calm – and I just happened to sing quite a bit from that movie because it was a few of the songs I was pretty sure of the words. “The hills are alive>…with the sounds of music…lalalalalah”

    See, I still remember. 😉

  2. with songs they have sung for a thousand years~~


Leave a Reply

Categories

