Posted by: madamm | June 20, 2007

MrsM’s Reflections

Less than 24 Hours left…until I cross over to the next year of my life.

The past year of my life has been exceptionally significant for me and I’d like to take this opportunity to reflect on that for a  few minutes…

*Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone.
The highlight of this past year is my wedding on 3 March 2007.  We have danced together. We have cried together.My marriage has shown the realisation of what was said long before we took that step…”to allow the spaces between us” (Kahlil Gibran).  The winds of the heavens are indeed dancing between us today…but we shall be together when the white wings of death scatter our days.
Thus far it has been a long and sometimes weary path. It has presented both of us with unprecedented frustration. But I remain steadfast in my determination to share my life fully with my husband in the near future. I think I understand why Pandora left hope in the box now…though I realise this separation is only a minute step in our path of togetherness.

You would know in words that which you have always known in thought.
This past year would not be the first time in my life I have had to resume work I thought I had already completed. Though, to date a masters thesis has served as the biggest learning curve I’ve ever had to endure. It forces you to push yourself to a place you didn’t think was within your reach. I have sighed lots. I have started chapters from scratch. I have toiled…and I continue to toil, piecing together paradigms even as they shift. That which is and that which is to come. I have never known a stronger me.

When love beckons to you, follow him,though his ways are hard and steep.
It is in this time of my life that I realise the fleetingness of emotions I may have perceived as love in my younger life. I do not claim to be more mature today, or even that I know more about anything, but what is certain is a personal understanding of true love and an overwhelmingly deep appreciation for the reciprocity thereof in my day to day life.

And let your best be for your friend.
If he must know the ebb of your tide, let him know its flood also.
I have realised (again) in the past year how important my friends are to me. The value of friendships are in fact, immeasurable. To them, I say thank-you…you know who you are.

And in keeping yourself with labour you are in truth loving life.
Yes, work. I must say, I complain about its turbulences often, but my job has, to a greater extent provided me with an immense amount of satisfaction. Something I am exceptionally grateful for.

To my parents, I thank you for your guidance, love and the unflagging support for everything I have ever done.

To my sister. A life-long friend who provides the gift of unconditional love and a cheerful heart in my darkest hour.

To my husband. The man I have chosen to share my life and dreams with. For your passion and your sacrifices, thank-you. I fall asleep with a prayer for you every day. 

To my friends. For laughter and tears. I have never experienced greater joy with the knowledge that I have you in my life.

To myself. Optimism. Obstacles.Opportunities. You are strong. May I grow more. Learn more. And love even more in my years to come.

* All quotes in italics are from Kahlil Gibran’s The Prophet.

Responses

  1. Mooi! En nog net een slaapie!!!

  2. NOG NET ENETJIE!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

