Posted by: madamm | May 21, 2007

Lessons

I want to touch on a few things today, the first of them being that one should never take advice from your mother for granted. In my case, that would be: “When you’re on the road, think for other people.”

Before today, I can only think of one other time a man fell because of me (and it had nothing to do with love). It was probably in the same year as the McDonalds incident (I was very daring back in the day) I didn’t look as I reversed and lightly knocked a Toyota behind me. The man dropping his wife off was absolutely livid.But as he was getting out of the car, highly pissed off, his foot got stuck in the seatbelt and he facked out of his car while shouting. I couldn’t help it. There was no damage, and I was laughing so hard I had to drive away for fear of being murderlised.
The other time was today. I was driving around a bend at about 10km/h and a man in a smart suit was standing on the pavement, smoking his pipe with his back toward me. I drove extra slow, because I knew he probably wouldn’t bother to look. And then he took a step into the road. I was about 5cm away from him when I decided to hoot. I mean, I was just hooting as if to say- Please Be Careful and LOOK before you cross the road- but this poor man in his very smart suit, stumbled all the way to the other side of the road because he got a fright. To my surprise he smiled when he got there safely. I had spared him his pipe-smoking life, Samaritan that I am.

So lessons from Mumsy should never be taken for granted. I wish the people in the three accidents I saw on the way to work would’ve thought about it. I mean really, some rain and it’s fender benders all the way to work. I glanced casually, as I whistled along with Mac Cohn’s “Walking in Memphis…” I really like that song…”Put on my blue suede shoes and I boarded the plane…touch down in the land of the Delta Blues, in the middle of the pouring rain…”

There’s just something majestic about the South…

Leave a Reply

Categories

